Features & Zone Management
Frequently asked questions and answers about
RcodeZero DNS and zone management.
The price of RcodeZero DNS starts at 19.- per month und depends on the product and extra services (dedicated ip-address). The prices for Enterprise can be found here and Internet Service Provider (ISP) clients can be found here. For Registries (TLD) we are happy to compile a personalized offer. Please contact us at email@example.com.
For the first 30 days after the initial creation of your account, the name services will be made available to you free of charge for testing purposes. Your credit card will not be charged during the first 30 days. Once the trial period has ended the contractual relationship (unless terminated) between ipcom GmbH and you will automatically become a conventional paid contractual relationship without the need for a specific declaration to this effect. Please find more information in our Terms of Service.
DNSSEC is included for free in every RcodeZero DNS package. The user may, at any time, activate or deactivate the DNSSEC signing service free of charge, for some or all of the zones.
You can find the customer web interface in our main menu on the right side of our RcodeZero DNS website or directly at https://my.rcodezero.at.
The customer web interface allows you for example to add / delete / query zones, fetch a complete zone list, see and download DNS query statistics.
An upgrade to another product can be carried out quickly and easily at any time by the account owner. The upgrade options for the Starter/Medium/Large products can be found under the menu item Accounting / Subscription / Upgrade. A product downgrade is only possible after written notification to firstname.lastname@example.org.
A contract must be concluded for an upgrade to PRO.
If you have any questions about the products, please contact email@example.com.
The web interface is intuitively designed and displays the necessary information in the dashboard as well as in the respective areas.
First, the relevant zone has to be added in the web interface at "Add Domain". Primary DNS zones can be edited directly in the web interface. Secondary DNS edits the zone as usual at the primary name server, increase serial and send notifies at our control name server (the relevant IP addresses will be displayed in your web interface). Our control name server will then retrieve the zone from your name server.
Zone transfers can be initiated via the "retrieve" command on the REST API or via the web interface. In this case, the serial is ignored and the zone is transferred and deployed to the Anycast nodes even if the serial has not increased. Note: Even if a zone was transferred, the Anycast name servers may respond a few minutes with old data due to internal caching in the name server software.
You have two possibilities:
1. Configure your zone via web interface or REST API as primary zone and add the relevant records also via web interface or REST API.
2. Another opportunity is to configure the zone as secondary zone. To do this, it is necessary to allow zone transfers from the RcodeZero DNS name servers and send notifications (when changes are made) to them. The corresponding IP addresses can be found in the web interface.
Also, in the web interface you will find the names and IP addresses of the name servers where your zones are hosted.
There is a page in the web interface called "Problematic Zones".
This page lists all your zones for which the control server failed to check the serial, or failed to transfer the zone.
Product Starter, Medium or Large:
Only the account owner can cancel the service. Log into your account as the account owner, select the submenu item "Cancel Service" in the "Settings" and confirm the deletion. There is also the last opportunity to download your zones.
Please note that your account will be deleted deactivated and all configured zones will be removed and permanently deleted. The cancellation is effective immediately, your monthly amount will be charged aliquot in the last invoice.
As a "Pro" customer, the termination must be made in writing (in compliance with the notice period specified in the contract). If you have any questions contact us firstname.lastname@example.org.
First, you should check the serial of the zone on the RcodeZero control server. This can be done either by viewing the zone details on the website or by querying the control name server for the SOA record, e. g.: dig @126.96.36.199 yourdomain.com SOA
If the serial is smaller than the serial on the master server, then possible problems can be that the control server is not allowed to query and transfer the zone from the primary. Make sure to allow query and zone transfer from the control server IP addresses 188.8.131.52 and 2A02:850:8::6. The Control Name Server checks your server for changes at least every 24 hours, or immediately if your Primary Name Server sends a NOTIFY to the Control Name Server.
If the zone on the control server is up-to-date, you can also check the zone data on an Anycast name server. Due to asynchronous replication and name server internal caching the changes may be delayed up to 5 minutes.
dig @sec1.rcode0.net yourdomain.com SOA
Attention: If you change the zone on your Primary name server, the serial of the zone must also be increased!
Before the account is finally terminated or deleted, it is possible to download the zones via .csv list.
The account owner has all rights in the web interface.
This includes for example:
* Changing company data
* Adding and deleting users
* Product upgrades
* Change of credit card data
* Creation of an API token
* Deletion of an account or cancellation of the service
Another user can be invited in the menu item "Users" under "Add User" by the account owner or with the appropriate authorization by e-mail.
The account owner can assign various rights (create, read, update, delete) to the new user. There is a possibility that the additional user is also an account owner.
Yes, it is also possible to have multiple account owners. For this, the account owner must add a user (Add User) and assign all rights (create, read, update, delete) to this user.
The user can be deleted on the top right under "Profile" / "Delete my User". Please note that only the user is deleted, not the account.